Independence Day is celebrated every year on 15 August

India's Independence Day is celebrated every year on 15 August. On this day in 1947, the residents of India got independence from British rule. It is the national festival of India.


Every year on this day the Prime Minister of India addresses the country from the ramparts of the Red Fort. On 15 August 1947, the first Prime Minister of India, Jawahar Lal Nehru, unfurled the Indian National Flag above the Lahori Gate of the Red Fort in Delhi. The Indian freedom struggle led by Mahatma Gandhi involved largely non-violent resistance and Participated in civil disobedience movements. After independence, British India was divided into religious lines, with the emergence of India and Pakistan. After partition, violent riots broke out in both countries and there were many incidents of communal violence. Never in the history of mankind has there been a displacement of such a large number of people due to partition. This number was around 1.45 crore. According to the 1951 Census of India, 72,26,000 Muslims left India and went to Pakistan immediately after the partition and 72,49,000 Hindus and Sikhs left Pakistan and came to India. 

The day is celebrated all over India with flag hoisting ceremonies, parades, and cultural events. Indians celebrate this day by displaying the national flag on their dress, belongings, homes, and vehicles and watching patriotic movies, listening to patriotic songs with family and friends.




European traders began to establish a foothold in the Indian subcontinent from the 17th century. Increasing its military power, the East India Company established itself by subjugating the local states by the end of the 18th century. After the First Indian War of Independence of 1857, according to the Government of India Act 1858, the direct suzerainty of India went to the British Crown, that is, the monarchy of Britain. Decades later, civil society gradually developed itself and resulted in the formation of the Indian National Congress (INC) in 1885. The period after the First World War is known as the period of the British Reforms. In which the Montagu-Chelmsford reforms are counted but it is also seen as a suppressive act like Rowlatt Act, due to which the Indian social reformers called for self-government. This resulted at the beginning of non-cooperation and civil disobedience movements and nationwide non-violent movements under the leadership of Mahatma Gandhi.


British laws continued to be gradually reformed during the 1930s; The resulting elections were won by Congress.[5]:195–197 The next decade was marked by political turmoil: India's participation in World War II, the final decision of non-cooperation by the Congress, and the rise of Muslim nationalism by the All India Muslim League. By the time of independence in 1947, political tensions escalated. The festivities of the subcontinent culminated in the partition of India and Pakistan.


Independence day before Independence

In the 1929 Lahore session, the Indian National Congress declared Purna Swaraj and declared 26 January as Republic Day. The Congress asked the people of India to pledge themselves to commit civil disobedience and follow the instructions of the Congress issued from time to time till the attainment of complete independence.


Such Independence Day celebrations were organized to infuse nationalist fuel among Indian citizens and also to compel the British government to consider granting independence. The Congress was organized on 26 January between 1930 and 1950. Celebrated as Independence Day. In this, people used to take the oath of independence together. Jawaharlal Nehru described in his autobiography that such meetings were peaceful and solemn, without any speech or sermon. Gandhi said that apart from the meetings, the day was spent doing some constructive work. Be it spinning like spinning or reunion of Hindus and Muslims or prohibition work or service to the untouchables. After de facto independence in 1947, the Constitution of India came into effect on 26 January 1950; Since then 26 January is celebrated as Republic Day.